Link to Living Tradition Homepage





Sleeve not available
THE CLYDESIDERS "Crossing the Borders" REL Records RECD502

The current line-up of the Clydesiders is Sandy Kelso on vocals, Duncan McCrone on guitar and vocals, Chris Stout on fiddle, keyboards and vocals, John Graham on guitar, mandolin and vocals, and Duncan MacDonald on bass. They bring together experience from various fields of musical influence on this collection of songs, both traditional and modern, and tunes.

They produce a competent collection, but perhaps the choice of the traditional material would appeal more to those who are still discovering this music, with tracks like "Tae the Beggin'", "The Rowan Tree" and "Land O the Leal". The more modern numbers include a version of Ewan MacColl's "My Old Man", a good version of Julie Matthew's "Albion Heart" and Duncan McCrone's own "The Surf and the Silver Fishes", which was inspired by the Antares tragedy of 1990.

The two instrumental sets have, to me, more drive and feeling to them than the songs, but that's not to say that the group hasn't tried as hard with the other tracks. All in all a fair performance, if not earth-shaking.

Gordon Potter

Secure On-line mailorder service Buy this CD online from The Listening Post
The Listening Post is the CD mailorder service of The Living Tradition magazine.
This album was reviewed in Issue 18 of The Living Tradition magazine.